top of page

FAQs

Dog gamboling in the snow

Is the microchip a GPS?

The microchip, contrary to popular belief, is not a tracking device. You won't know your pet's location. The microchip is a permanent identification that must be read using a microchip reader. That means that if your pet is found and brought to a veterinary clinic or animal shelter, they will be able to scan the microchip and find your information. Don't forget to update your personal information on the microchip if you move or change phone numbers. For more information, click here.

Kitten on the Stairs

Can I ask for an antibiotic prescription over the phone for my pet?

No. Even if your pet has a recurring condition, your pet should be seen by a 

veterinarian before being prescribed anything. Unless the medication is renewable in the file, it will not be prescribed without an exam or follow-up. It is not uncommon for the cause of an infection, for example an ear infection, to vary from one infection to the next and for the treatment to differ each time. Antibiotic resistance is an important issue and must not be taken lightly. If the drug used is unsuitable, there is a risk of developing antibiotic resistance. For more information,

click here.

How should I prepare for a visit at the vet?

Make sure you have all the important documents (certificates, medical file) with you. It is especially important if you are visiting a new veterinary clinic. If your animal is anxious, it's possible to request a prescription for anxiolytics before the day of the examination in order to make everything more pleasant for you and your animal during the veterinary exam.

Cat Close Up

What is a dewormer?

A dewormer is a medical treatment that aims to kill and expel intestinal parasites. A dewormer can be given as treatment, as well as in prevention. Dewormers can be found under several forms: oral (pill or chew) or topical. Puppies and kittens should be wormed once a month until they are 6 months old. Expect to deworm your pet every year. Animals that go outside will be dewormed every month during the warmer seasons. An annual dewormer will be recommended for pets staying mostly inside. Different dewormers treat different parasites. Speak with your veterinarian to choose the right treatment for your pet.

Dog lying in the grass
Dogs Running

Why are vaccines important for my animal?

There are several vaccines that exist to protect your pet, however, not all animals need all vaccines – it all depends on their daily lifestyle and their risk of exposure to disease. The purpose of vaccinating your animal is to protect it against infectious and potentially fatal diseases and prevent their spread. At Clinique Vétérinaire Lasalle, we will create a personalized vaccination plan based on your pet's lifestyle.

Serious Cat

Why are annual check-ups important?

Like in humans, an annual medical exam is important in order to evaluate your pet's health and to detect problems which may have gone unnoticed. Unfortunately, our cats and dogs cannot speak to us when something is wrong. Some health issues are subtle and might escape your notice. Every year, we assess their general condition; heart, lungs, eyes, ears, mouth, joints, skin, weight and more! We want to provide you with our most professional advice and recommendations, in order to make the necessary adjustments to maintain your companion's health.

At what age should I have my pet spayed or neutered?

It all depends on the species, breed and size of your animal. In cats, spaying/neutering is recommended around 6-7 months of age. In small dogs, around 7 months. For large dog breeds, we recommend discussing the topic with your veterinarian, to determine the best time to spay/neuter your pet.

A black cat in a paper bag

I saw a tick on my pet, what should I do?

You can remove the tick on your own, with a tick hook, making sure to remove the entire head! If you are not comfortable, please call your veterinarian to make an appointment to have it removed for you. Screening for Lyme disease (as well as 2 other tick-borne diseases) is recommended in dogs, 6 weeks after the bite.

Sans titre.jpg
Dachshund

Why is declawing no longer performed?

Onyxectomy, commonly known as declawing, is an amputation of the third phalanx of the finger. The procedure can cause orthopedic pain, possibly chronic. Studies have shown that declawed cats are 7 times more likely to develop inappropriate behaviors, such as urinating outside the litter box.

 

The Order of Veterinary Physicians of Quebec, “disapproves of this surgery when not medically required”. To find out about alternatives to declawing, click here.

Sans titre.jpg

What is heartworm disease?

Heartworm, called dirofilariasis, is a blood parasite transmitted by mosquitoes. This disease is more often found in dogs. The mosquito takes its blood meal from an animal that has the disease and then transmits the microfilaria to your dog through…a bite! Heartworms take 6 months to develop and the adult form dwells in your companion's heart where they reproduce. Adult worms look like spaghetti noodles. Fortunately, heartworm prevention exists to protect your pet.

My dog ate chocolate, what should I do?

Call your veterinarian immediately! Chocolate can be very toxic to pets. Make sure you know the type of chocolate (dark, milk, white, etc.), the amount of chocolate ingested, your dog's weight, and the moment when your dog ate the chocolate. The veterinarian will be able to calculate the risk and severity of intoxication. We may recommend that you come in for a consultation immediately and treat it as an emergency. For more information on toxic foods, click here.

Cat in snow

Why does my cat urinate outside its litter box?

There are several reasons why a cat would urinate at undesired places;
urinary tract infection, crystals/stones in the bladder, partial urinary blockage, bladder inflammation caused by stress, behavior, etc. First, an examination and a urinalysis are recommended in order to target the problem. Afterwards, the veterinarian will be able to give you the best recommendations and plan of treatment.  

Beagle Puppy
Dog by the Beach

Can I give my cat canned food?

Absolutely ! Cats tend not to drink enough water and wet food contains a high percentage of water which helps keep them well hydrated. Also, it is important to introduce canned food at a young age to get them used to it. Canned food is often recommended for sick cats because it is palatable and hydrating due to its high water content. Canned food is also well used for weight loss programs because of its high values in protein and low carbs!

Gray Kitten in the Town Square

What are the regulations on the Island of Montreal for owning cats and dogs?

To know the regulations in place concerning the amount of pets per household, please refer to the city's website. Sterilization is mandatory for all dogs, cats and rabbits over 6 months of age (medical exemption by a veterinarian is the only exception) . The microchip is mandatory for all dogs and cats aged 6 months and over.

Is it really important to brush my pet's teeth?

Just like us, brushing their teeth is important and should be done daily to avoid the buildup of plaque and tartar that can lead to advanced periodontal disease and pain. Periodontal disease can lead to the need for surgical teeth extractions and teeth cleaning under general anesthesia. For more information, click here .

Yawning Cat

How should I transition to a new food?

To avoid rejection of a new food or digestive upset in dogs and cats, make a gradual transition over a period of 7 to 10 days. For an effective transition to a new formula, we recommend that you gradually mix in the new food like so:

Sans titre.jpg
  • Day 1 & 2: 25% new formula + 75% old formula

  • Day 3 & 4: 50 / 50 old and new formula

  • Day 5 & 6: 75% new formula + 25% old formula

  • Day 7 & 8: 100% new forum

If you notice any changes in your pet's eating behavior or stool quality, contact your veterinarian.

Corgi
bottom of page

FAQ

Dog gamboling in the snow

Est-ce que la micropuce est un GPS?

La micropuce, contrairement aux croyances populaires, n'est pas un GPS. Vous n'aurez pas la position de votre animal instantanément. La micropuce doit être lue grâce à un lecteur. Donc, votre animal perdu qui est amené, par le bon samaritain qui le trouvera, dans une clinique vétérinaire ou un refuge sera vérifié à l'aide du lecteur. Pour plus d'information, cliquez ici. 

Kitten on the Stairs

Puis-je obtenir une prescription d’antibiotiques par téléphone pour mon chat ou mon chien?

Non. Même si votre animal à une condition récidivante, votre vétérinaire doit le voir en consultation avant de prescrire quoi que ce soit. Il n’est pas rare que la cause d’une infection, par exemple une otite, varie d’otites en otites et que le traitement diffère à chaque fois. Si le médicament utilisé est non adapté, il y a risque de développement de résistance. Pour plus d'information, cliquez ici.

Comment dois-je me préparer avant une visite chez le vétérinaire ?

Assurez-vous d’avoir tous vos documents en main, surtout si c’est votre première visite chez le vétérinaire, ou chez un nouveau vétérinaire (carnet de vaccins avec preuves de vaccinations, dossier médical, etc.). Si votre animal est anxieux, il est possible de demander une prescription d’anxiolytiques précédant la journée de l’examen afin de rendre le tout plus agréable pour vous ainsi que votre animal afin de faire un examen de santé approfondi.

Cat Close Up

Qu’est-ce qu’un vermifuge ?

Un vermifuge est un traitement médical qui a pour fin de tuer et expulser les parasites intestinaux. Un vermifuge peut être donné en traitement, ainsi qu’en prévention. Ils peuvent se trouver sous plusieurs formes : pilule orale, liquide sur la peau, comprimé à croquer. Les chiots et chatons devraient être vermifugés une fois par mois jusqu’à l’âge de 6 mois pour s’assurer que les parasites intestinaux sont bien éliminés. Attendez-vous a vermifuger votre animal à toutes les années. Les animaux qui vont dehors, seront vermifugés tous les mois durant la saison estivale. Différents vermifuges traitent différents parasites. Parlez-en avec votre vétérinaire afin de choisir le bon traitement pour votre animal.

Dog lying in the grass
Dogs Running

Pourquoi les vaccins sont nécessaires pour mon animal ?

Il y a plusieurs vaccins qui existent pour votre animal de compagnie cependant, pas tous les animaux ont besoin de tous les vaccins – ceci dépend de leur style de vie quotidien et leurs risques d’exposition à la maladie ! Le but de vacciner son animal est de le protéger contre des maladies infectieuses ou potentiellement mortelles et prévenir leur propagation. À la Clinique Vétérinaire Lasalle, nous créerons un plan de vaccination personnalisé basé sur le mode de vie de votre animal.

Serious Cat

Pourquoi les examens annuels sont importants ?

Comme pour nous, les examens annuels sont importants afin d’évaluer leur santé et de déceler des problèmes dont vous ne vous apercevez pas, car minou et pitou ne peuvent pas vous parlez. Certains problèmes de santé sont subtils et pourraient vous échapper. À chaque année, nous faisons l’évaluation de leur état général ; cœur, poumons, yeux, oreilles, bouche, articulations, peau, poids et plus encore ! Nous vous offrons nos conseils et recommandations professionnels afin de faire des ajustements nécessaires pour garder la bonne santé de votre compagnon.

À quel âge dois-je faire stériliser mon animal ?

Ceci dépend de l’espèce, la race et la grandeur de votre animal. Chez les chats, la stérilisation est recommandée vers 6-7 mois d’âge. Chez les chiens de petites tailles, vers 7 mois. Pour les chiens de grandes races, ceci est à discuter avec votre vétérinaire afin de déterminer un âge approprier pour votre animal, selon ses recommandations professionnelles.

A black cat in a paper bag

J’ai vu une tique sur mon animal, qu’est-ce que je fais ?

Vous pouvez retirer la tique par vous-même, en vous assurant d’enlever la tête en entier ! Si vous n’êtes pas à l’aise, veuillez appeler votre vétérinaire afin de prendre un rendez-vous pour que nous puissions la retirer pour vous. Un dépistage pour la maladie de Lyme (ainsi que 2 autres maladies transmissent par les tiques) est recommandé 6 semaines suivant la morsure.

Sans titre.jpg
Dachshund

Pourquoi le dégriffage n’est plus en pratique ?

L’onyxectomie, ou communément appelée le dégriffage, est une amputation de la troisième phalange du doigt qui engendre une douleur orthopédique, possiblement chronique. Des études ont démontré que les chats dégriffés sont plus susceptibles à développer des comportements indésirables.

 

L’Ordre des Médecins vétérinaires du Québec, « désapprouve cette chirurgie lorsque non médicalement requise ». Afin de connaitre les alternatives au dégriffage, cliquer ici.

Sans titre.jpg

C’est quoi les vers du cœur ?

Le ver du cœur, appelé dirofilariose, est un parasite sanguin transmit par les moustiques. Cette maladie est plus souvent retrouvée chez le chien. Le moustique prend son repas de sang d’un animal qui a la maladie et ensuite transmet la microfilaire à votre chien par…une piqure ! Les vers du cœur prennent 6 mois à se développer et la forme adulte habite dans le cœur de votre compagnon où ils se reproduisent. Les vers adultes ressemblent à des nouilles de spaghetti.  Heureusement, une prévention des vers du cœur existe pour protéger votre animal.

Mon chien a mangé du chocolat, qu’est-ce que je dois faire ?

Appeler votre vétérinaire immédiatement ! Ceci est un aliment très toxique. Assurez-vous de connaitre la sorte de chocolat (noir, lait, blanc, etc.), la quantité de chocolat ingérée, le poids de votre chien et quand votre chien à mangé le chocolat. Il est possible que nous vous recommandions de venir pour une consultation immédiatement afin de traiter cette urgence. Pour plus d'information sur les aliments toxiques, cliquer ici.

Cat in snow

Pourquoi mon chat urine à l’extérieur de sa litière ?

Il y a plusieurs possibilités pour laquelle votre chat fait des urines inappropriées ;
infection urinaire, cristaux/pierres dans la vessie, blocage urinaire partiel, inflammation de la vessie causée par un stress, comportementale, etc. Tout d’abord, un examen et une analyse d’urine sont recommandés afin de cibler le problème. Par la suite, nous offrons les traitements et recommandations idéaux pour votre minou. Pour plus d'information,
cliquez ici.

Beagle Puppy
Dog by the Beach

Puis-je donner de la nourriture en conserve à mon chat ?

Absolument ! Les chats ont tendance à ne pas boire assez d’eau et la nourriture humide contient un pourcentage d’eau élevé qui aide à les garder bien hydrater. De plus, il est important d’introduire la nourriture en conserve à un jeune âge pour les habituer. La nourriture en conserve est souvent recommandée aux chats malades, car elle est appétente et hydratante due à sa teneur en eau élevée.

Gray Kitten in the Town Square

Quels sont les réglementations de l’îles de Montréal pour la possession de chiens ou de chats ; limite, stérilisation, micropuce ?

Jusqu’à 8 animaux, toutes espèces autorisées confondues (excluant les poissons). Sur ces 8 animaux, vous pouvez avoir jusqu’à 4 chats et chiens avec un maximum de 3 chiens. La stérilisation est obligatoire pour tous les chiens, chats et lapins de plus de 6 mois (une exemption médicale par un vétérinaire est la seule exception)La micropuce est obligatoire pour tous les chiens et chats âgés de 6 mois et plus.

Est-ce vraiment important de brosser les dents de mon animal ?

Tout comme nous, le brossage des dents est important et devrait être fait quotidiennement afin d’éviter l’accumulation de plaque et de tartre qui engendre des maladies parodontales avancé qui mène à des douleurs et nécessite des extractions dentaires. Pour plus d'information, cliquer ici.

Yawning Cat

Comment dois-je faire la transition pour une nouvelle nourriture?

Pour éviter le rejet d’une nouvelle nourriture ou des troubles digestifs chez les chiens et les chats, faites une transition progressive s’échelonnant sur une période de 7 à 10 jours. Pour une transition efficace à une nouvelle formule, nous vous recommandons de mélanger graduellement la nouvelle nourriture comme ceci :

Sans titre.jpg
  • Jour 1 & 2 : 25% nouvelle formule + 75% ancienne formule

  • Jour 3 & 4 : 50 / 50 ancienne et nouvelle formule

  • Jour 5 & 6 : 75% nouvelle formule + 25% ancienne formule

  • Jour 7 & 8 : 100% nouvelle forumule

Si vous observez des changements au niveau du comportement alimentaire de votre animal ou de la qualité de ses selles, communiquez avec votre vétérinaire.

Corgi